Soundtrack Blog Soundtrack Reviews Soundtrack Features Soundtrack Forum Soundtrack Contest Soundtrack Shop About and Contact Home Listen or subscribe to our podcast - The SoundCast Follow us on Twitter Like us at Facebook Tracksounds:  The Film Music and Soundtrack Experience

QUICK-CLICK REVIEWS (Vol. 25)

Apocalypse World War II
The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel
Music from the Batman Trilogy
The Possession

FULL  SOUNDTRACK REVIEWS

Snowpiercer
How to Train Your Dragon 2
Dawn of the Planet of the Apes
Captain America:  The Winter Soldier
Rio 2

POPULAR FEATURES

In-Context- Guardians of the Galaxy
Interview: Jeff Russo
In-Context- Dawn/Planet of the Apes
Interview: Neil S. Bulk
A Composer's Guide to Video Game Music

LATEST PODCAST EPISODES

SoundCast 77 -Music of Marvel Phase 3 P2
Interview: The Flight (Alien Isolation
Soundcast 76 - The Music of Marvel Phase 3
Soundcast 75 - Top 10 Summer Scores
Interview: Tyler Bates (Guardians)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

2008 Music Preview - Quarter 1 (March)
A Look Ahead at this Year's Soundtracks

 

Quarter 1 | January | February | March
Quarter 2 | April | May | June

Quarter 3 | July | August | September


Feature Films 2008

Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day

Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day
by Paul Englishby
Opens: March 7, 2008

This romantic-comedy of sorts tells the tale of a governess in 1930s London.  Guinnevere Pettigrew (Frances McDormad) loses her job and so has to seize an opportunity to work that is way outside of her normal milleu.  Who better to score this decidedly English-tale than one PAUL ENGLISHBY?  There's little doubt this will be a run-of-the-mill, romantic-comedy, "Victorianish" fair.  It could hold a decent theme or two, but not expecting much here.

Anticipation level: low

10,000 BC

10,000 BC
by Harald Kloser and Thomas Wanker
Opens: March 7, 2008

Harald Kloser and Thomas Wanker have collaborated on projects such as THE THIRTEENTH FLOOR, ALIEN VS. PREDATOR and THE DAY AFTER TOMORROW.  Their combined efforts generally yield an interesting theme or two and a lot of clashes betweem electronic and acoustic instrumentation.  I expect more of the same for 10,000 BC...just with a lot more percussion.

Dr. Suess' Horton Hears a Who

Dr. Suess' Horton Hears a Who
by John Powell
Opens: March 14, 2008

Again we see the name JOHN POWELL and we feel good.  This 3-D animated adaptation of the classic Dr. Suess story, HORTON HEARS A WHO, already looks as though its miles ahead of Hollywood's last try at converting Suess to film.  I don't know about you, but I'm still trying to get THE CAT AND THE HAT out of my memory.  If he stays away from the direction he went with ROBOTS and leans toward HAPPY FEET, this should be quite a fun soundtrack.

Doomsday

Doomsday
by Unknown
Opens: March 14, 2008

Neil Marshall surprised a lot of folk with his 2006 flick THE DESCENT.  He follows that harrowing experience with one potentially even more horrifying.  DOOMSDAY is about a country that has been quarantined for 3 years due to a deadly virus outbreak.  Well, that old pesky virus gets loose again, so a team of scientists must go into that very country to find, what else? The cure.  Lots of potential for a score here...although I could also see it turning into a mass of grungy electronics.  PAUL HASLINGER are you there?  Another possibility would be a re-teaming with DAVID JULYAN.  For DOOMSDAY we must be extra careful.

Pride and Glory

Pride and Glory
by Mark Isham
Opens: March 14, 2008

Mark Isham is coming off of one his best years ever and is already at it again in the first quarter of 2008.  PRIDE AND GLORY looks like another cops-family-crisis film that tend to fade away into the grey fields of the forgotten.  Looks like a good cast, but these films seem to be a dime a dozen and will likely not give MARK ISHAM much room for anything more than subdued music which broods along from start to finish.

Anticipation level: low

The Bitter Sea (The Children of Huang Shi)

The Bitter Sea (The Children of Huang Shi)
by David Hirschfelder
Opens: March 15, 2008

This should be one of the better films of early 2008.  Initially entitled The Children of Huang Shi, The Bitter sea is set in war-ravaged China during the late 1930's. A great cast of Jonathan Rhys Meyers, Chow Yun Fat, and Michelle Yeoh gives much reason to hope for a good film.  Additionally, we have the return of composer David Hirschfelder, who has been noticeably absent from major projects in recent years.  Seeing his name attached is a bit of a surprise for a film such as this.  Queen Elizabeth in England? Yes, but sixty children in China?  Not so much.

Wanted

Wanted
by Danny Elfman
Opens: March 28, 2008

While the film smacks a little too much of THE MATRIX, perhaps it will hold a surprise or two.  Neo?  Check.  Morpheus?  Check.  Trinity?  Check.  Hyper-real abilities to bend time and/or space?  Check.  Don Davis?  No...DANNY ELFMAN!  Ok...so that's a twist.  Will it be THE KINGDOM sort of Eflman or SPIDER-MAN Elfman?  Ah...now that's something to wait for.

The Warlords

The Warlords
by Kwong Wing Chan, Peter Kam, Leon Ko
Opens: March 2008

Peter Chan's epic film set in the turbulent 19th Century of China.  The film stars three of Chinese film's biggest stars:  Jet Li, Andy Lau, Takeshi Kaneshiro.  In recent years, Chinese film has delivered some real score-gems by TAN DUN or SHIGERU UMEBAYASHI and seeing either name attached to The Warlords would have been a welcomed sight..  Instead of going the route of the well-known (at least from a Western perspective) Chan chose three unknowns:  KWONG WING CHAN, PETER KAM, and LEON KO.  The film released in China in December of 2007, but is scheduled for international release in March of 2008.  The film has not faired too well from reviewers and the score has not gotten much buzz either.  I'm hoping...but not holding my breath here.

Death Defying Acts

Death Defying Acts
by Cezary Skubiszewski
Opens: Spring 2008

When this movie opens wide is anyone's guess.  There was some measure of release in the USA and the UK in 2007, perhaps on the Film Festival circuit.  Other than that, there has been almost no talk about this film.  With Catherine Zeta-Jones and Guy Pearce, one would expect a lot more buzz than it's received!  Those who have seen it tend to have good things to say though.  So let me help get the hype-machine moving a little bit more.  CEZARY SKUBISZEWSKI is not a household name, not even in soundtrack lovers' households.  He hails from Australia making his selection for this Australian project somewhat natural.  What I have heard from his portfolio of film scoring is much more contemporary than a film about Harry Houdini would seem to require.  I have my reservations until this finally releases.

 

Anticipation-Level Movie Summary for Quarter 1

As per usual, the first quarter of the year is not stocked with a lot of great movies.  In fact the most talked about film will mostly likely be CLOVERFIELD, which appears as though it will have no score at all.

Low = 5

Med-low = 6

Medium = 5

Medium-high = 4

High = 0

 

Video Games 2008

Dark Sector

Dark Sector (X360, PS3)

Keith Powers
Game release date: March 25, 2008


Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Conviction (X360, Win) 

Kaveh Cohen and Michael Nielsen
Game release date: Quarter 1


Warhammer Online: Age of Reckoning (Win)

Brad Derrick
Game release date: Quarter 1


 


Quarter 2

 

Quarter 1 | January | February | March
Quarter 2 | April | May | June

Quarter 3 | July | August | September

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tracksounds 2008 Music Preview is just that - a preview.  Release dates are subject to change...as our composers attached to these projects.  The details found in the following are subject to change.  We'll endeavour to stay on top of such changes, but if you spot something out of date or incorrect, please notify me.


 

   

 

Home  |  Soundtrack ReviewsBlog |  Podcast | News Forum  |  Features  |  About  |  Advertise  |  Links   | Shop  

YesAsia.com - Asian Entertainment products CD Universe - Music, Movies, & Games At Low Prices! iTunes Logo 88x31-1

Copyright 1998 - 2009. Tracksounds:  The Film Music Experience.   All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in any form.  All compact disc artwork is property of the specified record label and appears here for informational purposes only.  All sound clips are in Real Audio format or mp3 and are the exclusive property of their respective record labels. Contact the Webmaster